Charm and Grace
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

I forgot my password

Word Counter
Word Count: 0
Cbox

Everyone chatting it up over here!

Let's Talk About Godmoding! (and Site Changes)

Go down

Let's Talk About Godmoding! (and Site Changes) Empty Let's Talk About Godmoding! (and Site Changes)

Post by Minister Viridian Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:48 am

Hello! I just wanted to say I'm back on the site full time, now. I'm going to be lead minister again, so know that I'll be here running the site. Minister Zaofu and Minister Sherlock will be here to help, as well.

So first, I want to talk about an issue I've been seeing quite a bit of. I would like to discuss Godmoding, what it is and why it's wrong. Charm and Grace is welcoming of many types of different writing styles and to all levels of RP experience. I was a beginner when I started here, too. That being said, Godmoding was a mistake I once made, too, and now I know why it's inexcusable if you know better.

Godmoding is taking control of another handler's character. If you give a character that is not yours other characteristics, if you say they are doing something that the handler has not previously stated, if you comment on information that hasn't been said by the character, you are Godmoding. This is a problem simply because it's rude.

If, for example, someone said that Isobel Green has blonde hair, that would be Godmoding, since her handler has mentioned numerous times that Isobel has brown hair. Another handler can't say that Isobel dyed her hair, because that could interfere with her handler's plot for Isobel.